Community and Knowledge Base/User Community and Knowledge Base/Tips & Tricks, Knowledge Base

Problems with Canceling or Deleting a Purchase Order in QuickBooks

Kevin Reynolds
posted this on November 22, 2010 04:51 PM

What is Happening:

After deleting a Purchase Order (or an individual line on a Purchase Order), the Purchase Order remains in an "Open" status in Rapid Inventory.

 

Why This is Happening:

If you want to "Cancel" a Purchase Order (or an individual line on a Purchase Order) in QuickBooks, you can't just delete it. QuickBooks does not notify Rapid Inventory of the deletion. Consequently, the Purchase Order stays open in Rapid Inventory.

 

Detailed Instructions:

If you have deleted a Purchase Order in QuickBooks, you will need to use the Force Close button on the Purchase Order in Rapid Inventory. 

 

Moving forward, you should take the following steps to cancel a Purchase Order in QuickBooks:

  • In QuickBooks, mark the Purchase Order as "Closed". This will update the Purchase Order in Rapid Inventory on the next sync and the Purchase Order in Rapid Inventory will be "Closed" as well.
  • You should do the same to cancel an individual line on a Purchase Order. Mark the line as "Closed" in QuickBooks, and this will update the Purchase Order in Rapid Inventory on the next sync and the Purchase Order line in Rapid Inventory will be "Closed" as well.
  • If the Purchase Order is already being received in Rapid Inventory, it may be too late to update it. At that point, manual intervention (yelling at the receiving person to stop receiving) will be necessary. Then the Receipt can be canceled in Rapid Inventory.